Information Related to the Trial of Fr McFadden

2003 Tim O'Sullivan


A list of those arrested in Gweedore after the death of Detective Inspector William Limrick Martin on 3rd of February 1889

This list is from A history of Landlordism in Donegal, by Proinnsias O'Gallchobhair, published by the Donegal Democrat, Ballyshannon,



Boyle John Innishman
Boyle Owen Sheskinbeg
Boyle Owen Stranacorkragh
Coll Margaret Cotteen
Coll Owen Derrybeg
Coll Thomas Innishman
Coll Thomas Carrick
Coll William Strakilmartin
Coyle Charles Crolly
Curran James Carrick
Curran Thomas Strakilmartin
Diver Charles Lunniagh
Diver Philip Carrick
Doherty Charles Stranacorkragh
Doherty James Middletown
Doherty Nancy Middletown
Doogan Michael Meenderrygamph
Ferry Daniel Sheskinbeg
Ferry Daniel Stranabruey
Ferry Maurice Sheskinbeg
Ferry Owen Brinlack
Ferry William Lunniagh
Gallagher Anthony Lunniagh
Gallagher Connell Sleghan
Gallagher Connell Thorr
Gallagher John Magheracloger
Gallagher Thomas Lunniagh
Harkin John Carrisckataskin
McBride Charles Carriskataskin
McBride Nancy Arduns
McCole (McCool) Darby Carrickataskin
McFadden Rev James, PP Derrybeg
McGee Bernard Carrick
McGee Connell Carrick
McGee Ferrigal Dore
Mulligan Hugh Derrybeg
O'Donnell Daniel Corveen
O'Donnell Michael Innishman
O'Donnell Patrick Innishman
Roarty Daniel Magheraclogher
Roarty Patrick Meenaniller
Rodgers Dominick Upper Dore
Shiels Matthew Derrybeg

A list of crown witnesses who gave evidence in the trial of Fr McFadden and the other Gweedore defendants at the trail in Portlaoighise and other members of the Police who received awards for service rendered in Gweedore.

This list is from A history of Landlordism in Donegal, by Proinnsias O'Gallchobhair, published by the Donegal Democrat, Ballyshannon, 1962, p 178-179.

Armstrong John Constable Carrigart
Boyd Joseph Constable Bunbeg
Carey Patrick J. Sargeant Bunbeg
Conway John Constable Castlefin
Cowan Dr. William A. Army Med Svce Gweedore
Daly Michael Sargeant Bunbeg
Dunning John Sargeant Kindrum
Fitzsimons James Constable Carrigans
Harkinness George A Constable Bunbeg
Igoe James Constable Annagry
Jacob Francis Constable Kerrykeel
Joyce Dr. Lancaster M.D. Falcarragh
Keenan John Constable Milford
Leonard Thomas Constable Glengish
Lynch Thaddeus Constable Bunbeg
McAweeney James Constable Bunbeg
McBride Robert Constable Dungloe
McCarthy Cornelius Head Constable Bunbeg
McFadden Dr. John M.D. Gweedore
McGowan Joshua Constable Kerrykeel
Mahony Owen Head Constable Bunbeg
Markham Patrick District Inspector Dungloe
Nolan Robert H. C.E. Derry
O'Hara William Constable Newtowncunningham
Orr James Constable Raphoe
Patterson Dr. John M.D. Ramelton
Pratt George A Sargeant Bunbeg
Reynolds John Constable Dungloe
Reilly Patrick Constable Aughakelly Hut
Robinson James Sargeant Doochary
Sherlock James Constable Ballybofey
Stevenson James V District Inspr Bunbeg
Varilly Thomas Constable Bunbeg
Waldron John W. Constable Bunbeg
Watson Robert Constable Glen